Banner 10

LEC Home : mUSicians : Guest Composers


Guest Composers

The Leichhardt Express Chorus is committed to the development of new Australian choral music. This involves commissioning new music and updated arrangements of classics for particular events (such as reworkings of traditional carols for the Carols on Norton Concerts).

In the last decade the choir has worked with a large number of composers in commissioning or co-commissioning more than 100 new songs and arrangements. Our Artistic Director, Michelle Leonard, has written about the process of commissioning new music in her Mentor's Blog on the Australian Music In Communities website. Click here to read her insights into the tribulations and the rewards of commissioning new music.

LEC's composer-in-residence for 2013 is David Basden. Read more about the composers that we have commissioned by clicking on the relevant photograph below.

Luke Byrne

Alice Chance

Anastasia Pahos

Andrew Schultz

Ben Van Tienan

Billie McCarthy

Christopher Gordon

Dan Walker

David Basden

Elena Kats-Chernin

Gerard Brophy

Marco Creazzo

Paul Jarman

Sally Whitwell

Stephen Leek