Banner 8

Home : About Us : Our Archive : Annual Chronicles : 2006
1998    1999    2000    2001    2002    2003    2004    2005    2006    2007  
2008    2009    2010    2011    2012    2013    2014

2006 - our 9th year

NSW runners-up in the ABC Classic FM Choir of the Year competition

Our aim to always give audiences a very good choral sound was rewarded in August 2006 when we were awarded second place in the NSW final of the ABC Classic FM Choir of the Year Awards. This was wonderful recognition of a great leap forward in the quality of LEC's sound; the result of lots of hard work by a group of non-auditioned singers and of the professional excellence of our Artistic Director, Michelle Leonard

LEC posing after the 2006 Mass of the Children concert a St James Church Sydney



Our first performance of 2006 was on 29 April - our audition for the ABC Classic FM Choir of the Year at the Eugene Goosens Hall in Ultimo.

Two months later, LEC presented the Australian premiere performances of John Rutter's Mass of the Children. The performance on 18 June was with a chamber orchestra and organ at St James Church in Sydney and the performance on 25 June was with a full orchestra at the Peter Duly Hall, Abbotsleigh Senior School. Both concerts featured Jane Sheldon (soprano) and Neil Kirkby (baritione). Listen to an excerpt from the latter concert:

An excerpt of LEC performing the Gloria from John Rutter's Mass of the Children on 25 June 2006.

On 4 August, LEC was thrilled to take part in the NSW State final of the ABC Classic FM Choir of the Year competition where we were runners-up. (An audio stream of this concert is still available on the ABC website. For RealPlayer audio click here or for Windows Meda Player audio click here.) 

Click on the program at left for more information about this performance or click on the YouTube clip below to hear an excerpt from the concert: LEC singing Ngana by Stephen Leek.

LEC performing Stephen Leek's Ngana in 2006
Click here to choose from a range of LEC videos on our Youtube channel.

In early September the LEC participated in a massed choir on a sound stage at Fox Studios that recorded some songs and sound effects for the movie: Happy Feet.

LEC was privileged to take on the role of choir-in-residence at the September 2006 Moorambilla choral festival in Coonamble NSW. The theme for this first Moorambilla in Coonamble was Songs in the Key of Bloke. Composer Dan Walker collaborated with Festival Director Michelle Leonard to write a song cycle that was performed by LEC and a boys choir that comprised singers from far west NSW and from Sydney.

A productive year ended with another successful Carols on Norton concert with orchestra in Pioneers Memorial Park in Norton Street Leichhardt. The evening was hosted by Damien Beaumont from ABC Classic FM radio and our special guests were the Marconi Choir. Damien performed as baritone soloist for Mary's Boy Child. LEC performed the world premiere of Billie McCarthy's Billies' Song in this concert. (You can download a recording of this song here.)

Play the YouTube click below to hear one of the songs from the 2006 Carols on Norton concert: Personent Hodie.

LEC singing Personent Hodie at Carols on Norton on 17 December 2006.
Click here to choose from a range of LEC videos on our Youtube channel.


LEC commissioned one new song and one new arrangement for Carols on Norton in 2006.

Premiere    Composer               Name

 17 Dec      Billie McCarthy         Billie's Song
                 Marco Creazzo     + The First Christmas 

                     + Arrangement

Behind the scenes

The committee organised a fundraiser on 4 March: Barbieoke!

The choir's website was completely revamped in January 2006. New pages were subsequently added during the year, including pages for Press Clippings, Supporters and the Inner-West Children's Chorus.

LEC website in 2006

Our Artistic Director was also very busy with family matters during 2006.

President: Tom Williams
Vice President and Artistic Director: Michelle Leonard
Secretary: Margaret Grove
Treasurer: Chris Robinson
Membership: Jim Fleming
Website: Jim Fleming
Committee: Lliane Clarke, Miriam Poole, Jeanne Kinninmont, Ian Daniel, Helen Watkins


2006 was a bumper year for recruiting new long-term singers. We gained no less than 13 new stalwarts: Corinne Mesana, Therese Berrigan, Di Beauchamp, Georgie Cropper, Helen Bailey-Cooke, Louise Cantrill, Neale Morison, Jenny Boddington, Janet Redman, Ann Wood, Colin Currie, Gwyn Jones and Meredith Hope. There must have been something in the water! 

New Singers

The full list of  singers who joined LEC for the first time this year is: Helen Bailey-Cooke, Ann Wood, Di Beauchamp, Therese Berrigan, Jenny Boddington, Robert Boddington, Deborah Burke, Louise Cantrill, Georgie Cropper, Colin Currie, Malcolm Day, Judy Doherty, David Evans, Barbara Gough, Carole Griffin, Pat Haynes, Adrienne Irving, Corinne Mesana, Neale Morison, Pamela Osmond, Emily Phillips, Janet Redman, Brian White, Kahren White, Gwyn Jones and Meredith Hope.

LEC posing rustically en route to the 2006 Moorambilla Choral Festival